Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

1 printer-2 PC's

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by 84gmcjimmy, Oct 19, 2005.

  1. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Is there some way I can hookup both our computers to our one printer? In all the schools they have 20+ computers hooked up to 1 printer. So there has to be a way.

    Any info? Would it just be a cord or is there something I have to install? My mom doesn't use this computer very much, and this is the one with the printer.
    I will google it later today.

    Thank in Adavance
     
  2. randy88k5

    randy88k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynchburg, VA, USA
    You need to set up a network through the ethernet. You would need a switch or a router/switch. Linksys makes some good, affordable, and avaiable products. My friend has one, ill let you know exactly how he did it and what settings he is using...
     
  3. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Well a couple ways come to mind , both involve networking .

    You could have the printer on one computer of your network , and share it .

    Or you could use a print server plugged into your network .

    With todays prices of routers , everyone with 2 pc's should be networked anyway for the ease of sharing the internet WITHOUT paying your provider extra :D
     
  4. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    network the 2 computers, then you can print off both of them, but the host coputer has to be on
     
  5. randy88k5

    randy88k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynchburg, VA, USA
    Damn, 3 replies at the same time...
     
  6. surpip

    surpip 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    or a printer switch if the comps are close together
     
  7. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    The main one is usually always on, gets turned off when we sleep, and turned on when we wake.

    How would I share it? I already have a router, do I need anything else?

    Thanks
     
  8. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Basically , you go into the start menu/settings/printers , and right click on your printer and look in the menu for sharing . It may be a little different for each version of Windows . I am looking at it here ( work )on 98 , but I am sure 2000 or xp ( have at home ) is simmilar .

    Or you can buy a print server , hook the printer to it by itself , plug it into your router , and both computers can use it regardless if the other is turned off or not .

    http://www.homenethelp.com/
     
  9. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Went into sharing from the CP. Will it only network with computers connected to the router, or can someone else see my files and documents, and use my printer, like the neighboors for example?
     
  10. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    It should be only for your network . Your files are different , you have to give each drive and each folder permissions .

    Right click on any folder and you'll see a sharing setting in there too . You can share what you want with your own network , or nothing at all .


    BTW , if you have a wireless router , encrypt it , only give the passcode to guests who bring a computer over on a visit , and turn off broadcast .
     
  11. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    The route isn't wireless, so I should be okay?
    Got it all setup, and printed a test page to make sure it worked!
    Yipee! This feels awesome.
     

Share This Page