Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

1 Ton Conversion ?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by landsmasher, Apr 10, 2002.

1. landsmasher

landsmasher 1/2 ton status

Planning to convert to 1 ton on my 78 K5. Going to start searching the junk yards. What trucks/vans should I be looking at and why? Also how do I tell what gear ratio is in the rear ends and how do I match the front end to it? Thinking of doing the spindal conversion to 8 lug. Is this a good idea or should I be looking for a 1 ton front end if there is such a thing?

Lot of questions for one post I know. But help if you can. I'm new to this stuff...

2. Hossbaby50

Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

I have questions for your questions. What type of wheelin do you do? How much power do you have/plan to have? How big of tires do you plan to have? Is your driving style heavy? What type of driving do you do. (alot of highway, city only?)

As for rear end. 3/4 ton 14 bolt full floater. It will bolt into a K5 with no mods except maybe for e-brake cable and a conversion ujoint. (and new wheels)

Front end will be answered by the questions above. Possible Dana 44 but maybe Dana 60.

If it turns out to be a D44 then you can convert your current axle. If it is a D60 then you will need to find one out of a 1ton pickup with single rear wheel. From 77-91 I believe.

3. StonerK5

StonerK5 1/2 ton status

Do a search on those questions...If there is one thing that has been discussed and then discussed again, and again, then a little more, it's the lovely 1 Ton conversion.
    Believe me you will find out more that way
    Chris

4. landsmasher