Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

10b front rebuild time

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by stizkidz, Aug 1, 2005.

1. stizkidz

stizkidz 1/2 ton status

Ok, so I am currently in the process of rebuilding my front 10b (minus the gears). I have already stripped it down to nothing, cleaned it all up, painted it, and purchased parts. It is now the hard part of putting it all back together. The first issue I am running into is how to remove the balljoints from the spindles. I have access to a torch, air, impact, and all the correct tools. I just don't know the proceedure to replace balljoints, as I have never done this before (my haynes is worthless). So, what do I do?
    Also, do I need a special scket to remove the balljoint adjusting sleeves from the axle housing?
    Lastly, before I finish and put everything all back together, are there any tips and tricks that I should utilize to make my 10b perform better? I have heard to weld the caps on the ujoints to save my balljoints, can anyone explain what this is all about?

Thanks,
    -Ben

2. scrappy88

scrappy88 1/2 ton status

You need a ball joint press to remove and install those ball joints properly. Harbor freight has ball joint kits here that will get the job done plus it also does u-joints very easily. You might be able to rent the tool from an auto parts store. As for the socket to remove and install the adjusting sleeve, I just got an old socket that fit down the hole and ground it down to fit the sleeve.

3. spearchucker

spearchucker 1/2 ton status

Ball joint write-up
    You can buy the spanner socket for the ball joints from snap-on or look for it online. You can also make it out of a 13/16 deep socket and a grinder in about 20 mins.

4. stizkidz

stizkidz 1/2 ton status