Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

10bolt >> 14 bolt coversion ? parking brake?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by woody9, Jun 8, 2001.

  1. woody9

    woody9 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 27, 2001
    Posts:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Howell, MI
    ok, so i found the axles, got all the poop for the brakes to be 'refreshed'; and now, looking at the parking brake.. or lack there-off.. mine has 2 cables/ long from pass side, short one from drivers side.......... axle has 2 same length....... truck is set for the long/short arrangement.....
    Houston, i think we have a problem here......

    who's crossed this bridge before me?
     
  2. Chris Demartini

    Chris Demartini 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dumont NJ 07628
    <font color=blue>You need the later backing plates. I dont know the exact year they started but it's in the 14 bolt swap tech article on the main page.</font color=blue>

    [image]http://bbs.off-road.com/wwwthreads_uploads/53-288682-mudpit3.jpg[/image]
     
  3. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    this is the company that is providing my e-brake cable... you have to measure the 2 sides, and tell them how the 2 are made, and they'll make you a cable if you can't find a stock on somewhere

    562-802-1122

    [​IMG] <font color=blue> Jeff </font color=blue> [​IMG]
     
  4. Esteban86K5

    Esteban86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bakersfield, CA
    I came across the same problem when I put my 14 bolt in a few months ago so everything is still fresh in my head. What I did was actually grind some of the pieces off the cables that the axle came with and adapted the trucks cable to it. I know I'm being extremely vague here but it's hard to explain. I'll try to take a pic of the part I ground off so you can see it. You do have to cut the axles cable off to fit the trucks cable. But it does work and my e-brakes work great now. I'll try to take some pics right now of the part.

    <font color=blue>Esteban</font color=blue>

    <font color=red>SEMPER FI TO MY BLAZER
     

Share This Page