Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

1350 --> driveshaft

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by blazerpro79, Oct 10, 2005.

  1. blazerpro79

    blazerpro79 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA
    hey guys, i was thinking about upgrading to 1410 or 1350 u joints, being that i need new yokes, and i should just upgrade now, but if i buy new yokes, my driveshaft wont fit the 1310s. do they make a combo joint or do i have to just get new ears welded onto my driveshaft to fit the bigger u joint. this is for my 79 k5, info in my signature.

    also, any reason why i should upgrade to 1410 over 1350 or 1310? it see's 95% street/highway, not too much offroading.

    thanks in advance
     
  2. Chaddy

    Chaddy 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Posts:
    4,110
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Salt Lake City,Utah
    I'm pretty sure you have to rebuild you d-lines
     
  3. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    for the way you use your rig, I'd just stick with 1310s. Why spend the extra money? I have 1410s personally, but my rig is built to wheel.

    j
     
  4. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    I have 1310 rear driveshaft yoke , and 12 bolt yoke on the prettier truck I drive everyday .

    I do wheel it , and haven't had it break yet .

    jekbrowns right , you probably don't need it with how you use your truck .
     
  5. blazerpro79

    blazerpro79 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA
    ok, well i keep breaking u joints, because my 203 yoke is cracked... if i buy 1310s, do i need to get my shaft re-machined to accept the 1310 u joint, or do they make a u joint that will connect the two?
     
  6. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    If your running a automatic/203 and 12 bolt , you should already be 1310 if its untouched original .

    If your breaking u-joints , just fix the reason , get a new 203 yoke , and make sure your angles are right and the shafts the right length .
     
  7. az-k5

    az-k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Posts:
    2,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    I am still running 1310's and even an S44 CV in the front. If you are worried get the new cold forged spicer 1310's. I haven't hurt mine in the last year of flogging it.
     
  8. Jishory

    Jishory 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Posts:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Palmdale, CA
    i used to break 1310's when i was on 10 bolts and 33's... id say its worth the upgrade
     
  9. blazerpro79

    blazerpro79 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA
    ok cool, so 1310 is stock size? sorry if i seem to be a noob in this area, its because i am.
     
  10. blazerpro79

    blazerpro79 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Simi Valley, CA
    also, i think i will be replacing the rear yoke as well. it is a 12 bolt, but ive been told my yoke is a 10 bolt yoke. it doesnt have the ears that hold the ujoint centered... and it uses straps instead of a u-bolt. is that correct it is a 10 bolt yoke? either way, its hard to center it so i will be swapping it out as well.
     
  11. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    They came in straps on 12 bolts too . The difference is the 10 bolt yoke is either s44 ( like 1330 but not exact ) , or 1350 on 4 speed trucks .
     
  12. rick88blaze

    rick88blaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Knob Noster, Mo.
    To answer your first question, yes they make combo joints for just about any size. I don't have the part #, but I'm sure someone on here does. I have one that goes from my 12 axle to my 10 bolt driveshaft and have never broke it yet, I can get on the throttle pretty hard when we are wheeling too.

    Rick
     
  13. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    I dug out the number the other day

    The joint to go from 10 bolt shaft to 12 bolt ( auto truck ) shaft is 3-3130 .
     
  14. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Easy , go the post your part number post in the member center under tech articles :D
     
  15. 1977k5

    1977k5 3/4 ton status Vendor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    9,994
    Likes Received:
    130
    BTW, you can't just replace the yoke on the rear end. It uses a crush sleeve and you will mess up the pinion bearing preload if you remove the yoke. Unless you can disassemble your differential and have an inch pound torque wrench, don't take that yoke off. Don't bother replacing the yoke, just wait until you swap in the FF14 bolt and uses a combo 1310/1350 joint at the axle end and you will be fine.
     
  16. 1977k5

    1977k5 3/4 ton status Vendor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    9,994
    Likes Received:
    130
    Mine is a factory 4 speed and had 1310 u-joints from the factory (my dad is the original owner, so I know it hasn't been messed with), so not all factory 4 speeds have 1350 joints.
     
  17. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    seriously, for your use the whole 1350/1410 thing is a waste of ca$h. Upgrading yokes on an axle like a 12b is a little bit silly. Fix the yoke problem on the 203, make sure your shaft is operating as a sane angle and replace the joints. You'll be fine and it'll cost you a lot less.

    j
     
  18. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Of course the assembly line isn't stopping , so I assume they would of used any combination they had on hand . The ones I have seen were 1350 , including the 70's truck my 12 bolt came from :D
     
  19. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    I take it you WANT to be banned. good grief, I'm averting my virgin eyes as we speak.

    j
     
  20. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    And I thought I was just being overly sensitive! :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page