Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

14.00R20 XLs vs 12.5R20 XLs--K5 Mog Buildup!!!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by OL14BLAZ, Jul 23, 2003.

1. OL14BLAZ

OL14BLAZ 1/2 ton status

Picked four of these [​IMG] up last night for my K5. The bigger one is a 48" Michelin XL military tire and the little one (41") is the same tire that I was running on my K5. It will take awhile to get them on the K5, I'm putting a set of unimog 406s underneath my K5. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif Should be a real learning experience as well I have never done anything like this before. Going to keep the simple leaf sprung setup at first with some anti-wrap bars. Then eventually do a four link front and rear with coilovers.

I will keep everyone updated as I make major progress. That is if anyone is intrested.

Eric

2. zakk

zakk 1/2 ton status

Mog axles, huh? will you be modifying them yourself? why did you elect to go with the 406 over the 404?

3. OL14BLAZ

OL14BLAZ 1/2 ton status

No I won't be modifying them soley by myself, I've got a good friend that is going to be doing most of the work and I will be the student.

I chose the 406 over the 404s for a couple of reasons. First is strength issues, the 406 is bigger in everyway. If I ever put big block power I don't want to have to worry about the 48s breaking any axles shafts or portal parts. Second I've been talking to several people over the past couple of months that run the mogs on various vehicles and most recommended the 406s or U1300 for my application.

Eric

4. zakk

zakk 1/2 ton status

yeah, the 406 is a much stronger unit, but the mods are also more extensive, right? adapting the 406 for leafs should be interesting! keep us posted and take lots of pics /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

5. Grim-Reaper