Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

14 bolt axles

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by ThreeBills$, Mar 30, 2005.

1. ThreeBills$

ThreeBills$ Registered Member

I looked around different forums and couldn't find any thing on the width of a 14 bolt rear end(without abbrievations). I am new to 4X4 and kinda need it spelled out for me. I was wondering if there is a difference in width between a 10 bolt rear end and a 14 bolt rear end. Also, what is the difference between a 14 bolt semi float and a full float? Thanks

2. stallion85

stallion85 1/2 ton status

14 bolt width will be the same width but the spring perches are different on a van and Dually. To make a direct bolt in you need one from a truck. The semi float axle your tires connect to the axle-if you break an axle the tire will come off. The full float is the stronger of the two. The axle shaft can actually be removed with the tire still on-the weight of the vehicle does not technically ride on the axle itself??

Hope this helps-Someone might be able to explain it better though :confused: :)

3. clarkjw24

clarkjw24 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

I'm sure someone will post the link from pirate4x4 the 14bolt bible. If your looking for a direct swap into you 1/2 chevy get a 14ff from a 3/4ton truck then you won't have to move spring perches. Simi floaters still used c clips and full floats the axles bolt to the hubs. FF from a 3/4ton is what your looking for, fairly easy to find. Do a search on sf vs ff to get all the details.

http://www.pirate4x4.com/tech/billavista/14b_bible/index.html here you go.

4. ThreeBills$

ThreeBills$ Registered Member

Thanks a lot John, that pirate 4X4 site helped out a ton. Thanks also for your imput, everybody's opinion helps. Thanks again

5. dremu

dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member