Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

14 bolt hub tool?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BlueCamo, Sep 15, 2005.

  1. BlueCamo

    BlueCamo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    What tool do you use to remove the hub nut on a 14 bolt ff axle? The nut has 6 holes that go around it.
     
  2. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,526
    Likes Received:
    526
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    thay have a socket for them. but some use a punch and a hammer. but when you reasemble it this method will be hard to get the 50 ftlb tourqe set on the nut. best get the socket.
     
  3. Beast388

    Beast388 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Posts:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clinton, IA USA
    [​IMG]

    I have a combination socket much like this one. It will fit Dana 44s & 60s as well as 10 & 14 bolts.

    Clicky

    :D :D
     
  4. 89GMCSuburban

    89GMCSuburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Posts:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Thornton, CO
    Auto Zone and Advance auto parts have the 6 prong socket usually in their tool selection. They aren't that expensive.
     
  5. BlueCamo

    BlueCamo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    So that's the ame socket for the front wheel hub. I have one for a Dana 60 that i'll try Thanks.
     
  6. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA

    yeah dana60 front and 14bolt rear use the same one.... I was worried I was gonna have to buy another one when I got the d60... but didnt have to :wink1:
     

Share This Page