Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

14 bolt, LSD or ??

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by One_Ton_k5, Jan 30, 2003.

1. One_Ton_k5

One_Ton_k5 1/2 ton status

Hi everyone, I am new to k5's and I just want to do it right. I am swapping in the standard 1 ton gear, D60F - 14FF, but I am looking for idea's on the rear differential.

I have a detroit locker in my other truck and I know that I do not want another one. I would prefer the ARB but as you know it doesn't exist.

So what's left? I live in Minnesota which means snow and ice and rain and mud. I was thinking limited slip front and rear but which one is the best.

I read some other posts here regarding the LSD's but I am looking for a specific recomendation based on the fact that I want maximun traction but good manners on the street.

Thanks, I am glad to be here among you all. ;-)

2. Hossbaby50

Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

ARB "says" they are coming out with one, but that has been supposed to happen for years not. As for LS, the only one I know of is the factory Gov-lock, which is like half locker, half LS. Detroit, spool, and weld are about the only real options for the 14bff. You might be able to get an LS threw Eaton which I believe was the OEM supplier of the govlock LS.

3. u2slow

u2slow 1/2 ton status

The 14-bolt Gov-Lock isn't known to be a very strong or reliable. As you know, the Detroit or the Lock-rite is about the only thing going.

A Dana 60 rear might be a better option. There's two types of factory LSD's for these. Trac-Lok's are common and more reliable than any gov-lock. The Powr-Lok is even better - stronger and more grippy - but harder to come by. More ground clearance with a Dana 60 as well.

4. One_Ton_k5

One_Ton_k5 1/2 ton status