Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

1410 Yoke engagement ? on 241 SYE *PICS*

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by desertrat67, Nov 27, 2006.

  1. desertrat67

    desertrat67 Hawk Driver

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Posts:
    3,982
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Dumfries, VA
    Does this look right? There seems to be about 3/8 of an inch of thread inside the splined portion of the thread still. It also looks like there is too much distance at the front by the seal. This is from HAD and already been machined down as per JB's instruction. Just don't want to put it together and have it be wrong.

    DSC01400.JPG

    DSC01401.JPG

    DSC01411.JPG
     
  2. MattK

    MattK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    eeek that does look pretty odd. i believe on my 205 the washer touches both the yoke and the shaft(flush where they meet)
     
  3. desertrat67

    desertrat67 Hawk Driver

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Posts:
    3,982
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Dumfries, VA
    I called HAD a couple weeks ago and was told the yoke should have been machined already since i ordered it with the SYE kit and it measures what is stated on the invoice for being the propper length (1 3/4" spline through hole). I guess i will give Jesse a call tomorrow and see what he says.
     
  4. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,060
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    As long as you can get the washer and nut on and tightened and still have some shaft sticking out beyond the nut you will be ok.
     
  5. Citizen Rider

    Citizen Rider 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Posts:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, Texas
    have you ran the nut down with an impact to proper torque specs?
     
  6. 1977k5

    1977k5 3/4 ton status Vendor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Posts:
    9,992
    Likes Received:
    130
    Looks ok to me but Jesse is the man to talk to.
     
  7. Chaddy

    Chaddy 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Posts:
    4,110
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Salt Lake City,Utah
    you have to machine a 1/4 inch off of the yoke.
     
  8. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,060
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    He said it has already been machined by HAD.
     
  9. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    see what jesse says, thats going to be a killer setup once u get it in. are you going to run a cv or no?
     
  10. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,060
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    To run a CV you need a flange not a yoke so i'm going to say no.
     
  11. desertrat67

    desertrat67 Hawk Driver

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Posts:
    3,982
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Dumfries, VA
    I have a suburban, why would i need a CV. I have more than enough wheelbase to make it work
     
  12. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    ive seen some cv's that use yokes, but i guess they were on smaller vehicles.

    didnt see it was for a burban:doah:
     

Share This Page