Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

14bolt out of Chevy Van (questions)

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Chaz88K5, Aug 24, 2001.

  1. Chaz88K5

    Chaz88K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,979
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stockton/Lodi CA
    Ok well i have heard that a 14 bolt out of a van will not work...what are the reasons....is it narrower than the truck version or whats the deal?...i got one from a van i would like to put in my 88 but i want to know for sure befor i even bother wasteing my time haveing it rebuilt.

    [​IMG]<font color=blue>Donations accepted for the "Build Chaz's 1972 K5 fund"!!!</font color=blue> [​IMG]
     
  2. sapper

    sapper 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Posts:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVa
    i just found my 14 ff and in my studies i have found that one out of a van will work and also has the advantage of being 3 inchs longer than a regular one so you wont have to put in spacers. the only things that you will have to change are the perches and the shock mounts i believe.

    Cause Stone Cold said so !!
     
  3. SAVAGE1

    SAVAGE1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Posts:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BAY AREA, CA
    That sounds about right to me. They're 3 inches wider than the regular ones so they match the front wheel base. Just reweld the perches and shock mounts and you'll be set.

    Rod
    Alameda, CA
    85 K5 6"ProComp 35"Boggers... and it's still not BIG ENOUGH!!
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/K5Jungle>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/K5Jungle</a>
     
  4. Moose

    Moose 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glendale, Arizona
    Put it in. It is wider so you blazer will have the same front and rear tread tracking. i have one in mine.
     
  5. rickmack1

    rickmack1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2001
    Posts:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    You need to talk to Chuck at chuckschevytruckpages.I'm also doing an axle swap with a 14 bolt.I got mine off a 3/4 ton and Chuck has alot of info that helped me in my journey to a better Blazer.
    Rick
     

Share This Page