Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

14FF brake line to wheel cylinder Q?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by jackedjimmy, Oct 5, 2002.

1. jackedjimmy

jackedjimmy 1/2 ton status

On a 14ff,the wheel cylinder is obviously larger than on a 12bolt, which means that the new brakelines that un along the axle and the braided extenders I just bought aren't going to work. My question is...could i just get an adapter to go into the wheel cylinder and into the brake hose connection?

I'm not a brake expert but i think that this might restrit the amount of flow needed for 1ton brakes too much by having that diameter of tubing.

The actuall tubing is pretty cheap and i wouldn't care too much if i had to replace it, but the procomp braded lines are expensive. /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif

2. HarryH3

HarryH3 1 ton status Author

I'm pretty sure that the brake line is the same diameter. /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif

3. jackedjimmy

think your right on the actual tubing, but the end fittings that o nto the wheel cylinder are bigger. I know that i could probably just get the fittings and re flare it but i suck at flaring on stuff that smll. /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif

4. 87sm465np208

87sm465np208 1/2 ton status

then have a friend do it, or goto a shop and let them flair it for you /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif

5. jackedjimmy

ttt---so am i going to have really weak rear brakes if i run these lines? i could adapt to the larger on the cylinder end but the connections at the flex line would be the same as on a 12bolt.....other ideas?

6. HarryH3

HarryH3 1 ton status Author