Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

16" vs 16.5" Wheels

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by k2-k5, Apr 7, 2004.

1. k2-k5

k2-k5 1/2 ton status

16\" vs 16.5\" Wheels

Is one wheel better then the other?

I was told the 16" have a better lip design and will help hold the bead better at low pressures. Can anyone verify this?

Also will 16" wheels clear Dana 60 calipers ok? Or would I need the extra 1/4" on the radius?

/forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

2. Tweetysuarus

Tweetysuarus 1/2 ton status

Re: 16\" vs 16.5\" Wheels

17's are gaining popularity with tire mfg's now!
    Bill

3. djsblaze

djsblaze 1/2 ton status

I have read many times that yes, the 16.5 does NOT work as well at low pressure, though I have no practical experience with them. Yes, 16 will clear calipers on a D60.

4. azblazor

azblazor 1/2 ton status Premium Member

16" clear D60's fine.

5. bigyellowjimmy

bigyellowjimmy 1/2 ton status

Yes, 16" wheels do have a safety bead that holds much better than 16.5"....and yes, 16" will clear D60 calipers with no mods at all. In fact many D60 trucks came with 16" rims from the factory. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

6. Pookster

Pookster 1/2 ton status

16" and 16.5" wheels are both gainin in popularity. 16 being more common however. 16.5" are becomming more and more popular (H1/h2). i dont know if there are any other manufacturers that include that size for a stock sizing however.H2's also came with 17" tires, and all the truck manufacturers are making big ass tires.

depends on how large you want the tires to be- 16" wheels are a little bit limited from the "retail" distributers for excess of 35". However, readily avaliable from mail order.

Thats just the way it is here.

7. k2-k5

k2-k5 1/2 ton status