Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

1979 Suburban with blazer removable top

Discussion in '1936-Present Suburban' started by kaharshs, Oct 5, 2008.

1. kaharshs

kaharshs 1/2 ton status

Hey guys,
    been fishing around here awhile but never got around to signing up. I live in Fairfield Ca, but im from the area around Eugene Oregon. Im a sheet metalworker and painter. Right now I work in a advanced composite shop on carbonfiber, kevlar and fiberglass parts. Though I'd start the post of my build up of my 1979 Suburban. I found it on craigslist for $500. Already have a 6 inch lift and 35's. I bought it without ever seeing it. Went down to get it and turned out it was a 350, 465, 205. It ran like ****, but it drove me 100 miles home. When I got home I replaced the braided fuel line at the tank which was missing most of the rubber. Found out that was why it was starving for fuel. Also the rear ubolts were really losse. Then I was changing all the fluids and pulled the rear axle cover off and plop plop plop went chuncks of the ring gear. So I built a 14 bolt semi floater with disc brakes, govlok, and 4.10's. Pulled out the old half ton **** and put a matching 8 bolt 44 up front. While I was at it I added a 3inch body lift and 38 toyos. Then I decided I wanted a giant sun roof so I cut the back of the roof off. After looking on here I saw the blazer top could be put on the suburban. Half off day at pick and pull netted me a fiberglass top and all the sheet metal I needed for about $200. So here it is still kinda ruff but somewhat put together. Next on the list is the 4bolt 350 in my garage and the gasket/seal kits I have for the tranny and transfer case. Havent decided on the color yet. But I will keep that for next summer when I can make a trip to my dads house to use his paint booth. Check