Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

1990 Jimmy TBI won't start, please HELP!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by backinblack, Sep 12, 2003.

1. backinblack

backinblack Banned

1990 Jimmy TBI won\'t start, please HELP!

It's got 113,000 miles (supposedly). Started and ran perfectly up until yesterday w/ minor puff of smoke for 1 second when cold. Today it turns over fine but no hint of starting. I had my brother crank it while I looked at the injectors and saw no fuel, Should I? I will check the fuel filter but was wondering if it could be anything else simple. Any help would be greatly appreciated. P.S. I am new to Fuel Injection.

2. heavy4x4

heavy4x4 1/2 ton status

Re: 1990 Jimmy TBI won\'t start, please HELP!

Yes, you should see gas coming out of the injectors as the engine cranks. Replace the fuel filter to begin with. If that doesn't do it (probably won't), your fuel pump has kicked the can and needs replacing. If you replace the pump, make sure you replace the filter too.

3. backinblack

backinblack Banned

Forgot to say i can hear the pump run when I switch the key on. Could it still be dead?
    Thanks - Justin

4. HarryH3

HarryH3 1 ton status Author

Check for spark. The module in the distributor sends a signal to the ECM, telling it when to fire the injectors. If that signal doesn't go out, the injectors won't fire.

5. backinblack

backinblack Banned

Thank you all, I will check those items out tomorrow... er, I guess it's today now, huh?

6. jpaitala

jpaitala Registered Member

I had this same problem with my '89 Chevy Van... All the symptoms were the same as you have!!
    The problem was that the ECM did not get any current, it should get 12V when key on run position. I just replaced the "broken" wire to ECM and it ran again...