Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

1st gen custom radio "build"

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by bp71k5, Apr 3, 2007.

1. bp71k5

bp71k5 3/4 ton status Premium Member

With all the build threads going on lately, I thought this might be fun for me to post the start of my "build" that I've been researching for a few months now. This might be a fun read for anyone trying to get nice audio system in their 69-72 but keep the stock vintage radio looks. This will be a long post, but I thought I'd dive in and update it over time as I go along. It's still a work in progress so I will also need some tips along the way. Plus after seeing Greg72's very cool audio setup pictures, it motivated me to get started.

My problem is that the PO cut the dash opening to add a modern size stereo, but I like the old fashioned vintage look of old interiors. (See picture)

In addition, I've had more stereos stolen from cars than I care to remember so I dislike advertising an expensive stereo just to have someone steal it. Plus I don't like the idea of hiding the new stereo in the console or under the seat because I didn't want to spare the space or hack into anything else I didn't absolutely have to. More in next post.

Blazer1 006_320x240.jpg

Last edited: Apr 3, 2007
  2. bp71k5

So I started researching options to convert an old AM style radio to add FM+ stereo plus allow me to add some kind of auxillary input to run my iPod as well as some pre-outs for amplifiers.

I found some online services that gut the old radio, refurbish it, and add new