Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

2 coolant temp sensors?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by beastofablaze, Aug 12, 2006.

  1. beastofablaze

    beastofablaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Do some k5's use 2 coolant temp sensors?

    I have a leftover sensor after my swap and it won't fit in any of the water plug holes in the intake manifold.... it'll only fit in the head. My coolant temp sensor (# 1 I guess?) on the other hand fits right into a hole in the manifold...

    Crankshaft sensor is hooked up as well as the knock sensor... I'm stumped.
     
  2. MattK

    MattK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    i know coolant temp sensors will fit in the top of the water pump. there is most likely a plug there now. ive never personally seen a sensor there from the factory though.

    edit: i think i misunderstood your post. i think more details of the truck are necessary
     
  3. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    More than likely you've got a gauge temp sender and an ECM temp sender. (either a CCC or TBI truck, since the poster is in CA) The one wire sender is for the gauge, two wire is for the ECM.

    ECM one is in the intake, gauge is in the head.
     
  4. Kiqman

    Kiqman 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    What He Said

    The one in the head goes to the dash gauge. The one in the manifold goes to the ecm.
     
  5. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Crankshaft sensor? TBI doesn't have a crank position sensor. It uses the hall effect in the distributor to figure that out.


    There should be 2 ECTs, one for the ECM one for the Gauge. one is in the intake manifold and one is in the cylinder head. Couldn't tell you which one is which off hand, its been a long time since I've messed with TBI.
     
  6. K5er4Life

    K5er4Life 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2002
    Posts:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bellflower, Ca
    I can confirm that on my 87 TBI the sensor in the manifold is for the ECM and the sensor in the head goes to the gauge.
     
  7. beastofablaze

    beastofablaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Cool thanks for the help guys.
     
  8. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,623
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    x2....
     

Share This Page