Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

2000 SS Z28

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by SHAWNSTER, Jan 15, 2004.

  1. SHAWNSTER

    SHAWNSTER 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Posts:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DALLAS,TX
    MAYBE WRONG FORUM BUT --- :help: MY FRIENDS MOM RAN HIS SS OUT OF GAS-THEN PUT SOME IN AND NOW IT WONT START-ANYONE KNOW HOW TO GET IT RUNNING
     
  2. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    My dad always says, never run an EFI out of gas cause the pump is lubricated by fuel so it can sieze up.... Scary to say that may have happened. Never heard of it happening, but can't say I know people that drive vehicles without carbs.
     
  3. mud390

    mud390 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Posts:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Little Rock, Arkansas
    I believe (correct me if I'm wrong) that EFI systems are also presurrized. I don't know if there is a way to prime the system or not, but if you could it, it might help. We had to do that on a I6 deseil we had when someone put gas in it. It took us a good 3 hours of messing with it to get it running again.

    Kris
     
  4. Hardcore

    Hardcore 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Posts:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    You need to eset the fuel pump See owners manual /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif
     
  5. BowtieRed

    BowtieRed 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Posts:
    1,776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winston-Salem, NC
    hmm, i ran my explrer out of gas and it started fine.
     
  6. CHEVY 4WD

    CHEVY 4WD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    yea... your gonna need to prime it some how, you might be able to to poor some gas down the throttle body start it and repeat a few times... this works on carbs but im not sure on FI
     

Share This Page