Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

205 driveshaft work on 241sye?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by muddybuddy, Jan 29, 2006.

  1. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    hey there, im looking to go to eventually go to a 241SYE and was wondering if a stock driveshaft off a k5 with a fixed yoke 205 would work? i know it might need to be shortened a little, since the 241 would be a little longer, but it should work right?
     
  2. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    any thoughts?
     
  3. smokkey1

    smokkey1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    well if the ujoints are the same then it should work.
     
  4. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    ya thats what i thought. im hoping with that extra length of SYE i can use a stock driveshaft til i can afford to get a HAD one.
     
  5. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,073
    Likes Received:
    486
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    Well if you have 8" springs, then you would want the extra length, no?
     
  6. 79k20350

    79k20350 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ct
    i thought that 241 sye uses a flange, not a yoke like a 205 would:confused:
     
  7. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    yes the lil extra length will help, but it also has 14b so the pinion is longer than stock. i guess theres only 1 way to find out....ill hvae to test it for myself and report back :-)
     
  8. redneckdude

    redneckdude 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Posts:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Augusta, GA
    You can get either a flange or a yoke...i think when i do mine ill do the flange so i can run the e-brake and then have a flange-mounted yoke for the driveshaft.
     
  9. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    i like the idea of flange so u can swap driveshafts if u break one. but then i couldnt use stock 205 driveshaft
     
  10. 79k20350

    79k20350 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ct
    When you go had you cant use a yoke. that means if you go sye with a yoke youll have to buy the flange afterwards to run a had. really you'll wind up spending more money buying the yoke, flange and 205 driveshaft where you coulda just went with a had anyways.
     
  11. muddybuddy

    muddybuddy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    8,933
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax Station VA
    had doesnt make yoke cv's?? crap
     
  12. 79k20350

    79k20350 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ct
    jesse might but from what i remember he doesnt but i may be wrong. shoot kidjethro a pm, hell know. thees a very good chance he may but every pic ive seen if for a flange. i prefer the flange anyway (cause there are cvs off yokes out there)
     

Share This Page