Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

205 for auto question...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 84gmcjimmy, Jun 21, 2004.

  1. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Okay, in the local newspaper here there is an 205 for sale for 300 clams. It just says it's for an auto. If the guy didn't change anything with it, what would have came with it stock? I would call him, but, well, you know, /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif I am not good on phones /forums/images/graemlins/screwy.gif
     
  2. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,224
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    It will depend on which auto it came off of. If it came off of a TH400 it will be 32 spline input if it came off of a TH350 it will be 27 spline input. The TH400 version is worth a lot more than the TH350 version too /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  3. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    yeh cuz the 32 spline any case models were not as common as 27 splines ones

    and persinalyl i wouldnt give a crazy 300 for a 205 case, unless was rebuilt or inspected professionally at a shop, or something of that nature :P :P


    tjkj
     
  4. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    So the best chance is that it was connected to a th350? Is it possible to change the spline from 27 to 32? Thansk for the help.
     
  5. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    yeh cuz the 32 spline any case models were not as common as 27 splines ones

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I disagree. The NP 205 with the 27 spline input for a TH 350 is pretty rare. While what you are saying might be true for the other cases, I think that there aren't many adapters out there as rare as the 27 spline NP 205. (except maybe the 85-up 32 spline 465/205 adapter, or the 4L80E to NP 205 adapter)
     
  6. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    [ QUOTE ]
    So the best chance is that it was connected to a th350? Is it possible to change the spline from 27 to 32? Thansk for the help.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yes but it often requires machine work. Besides, you can often sell a 27 spline 205 for more than a 32 spline one is worth, make some $$ and pick up the 32 spline case that you need.

    For your use though a TH 350/NP 205 might not be a bad setup either.
     
  7. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Whats the difference in length of the 400 versus the 350? Because I could use the th350 that is in the blazer right now, until I find a good th400. All I would need to do is get an adaptor to hook up the 350 from 208 to 205.
    I'll phone the guy tomorrow and find out some information. What questions should I ask? Thanks for the help.
     
  8. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    Make it simple for the guy and just ask if it was mated to a TH400 or a TH350.
    Here's a reference pic for what the input shafts look like,Just incase you go look at it.
    [​IMG]

    The 27 spline for the TH350 will have a sleeve as well.
     
  9. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Thanks, I saved that picture so if I do go look at it, I will have a reference /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  10. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,224
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    [ QUOTE ]
    persinalyl i wouldnt give a crazy 300 for a 205 case

    [/ QUOTE ]

    You have to remember he is talking about canadian dollars so about $50 US /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif (more like $180-200 US)
     
  11. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    It would actually be around $210. The exchange rate is 30%, so $1.30 is one dollar in the US. /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif
     
  12. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,224
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    Last I heard it was somewhere around 67-68% (CAN $ x .68 = US $) or if you go the other way it would have been 147% (US$ x 1.47 = CAN$). But the conversion rate changes daily too. As of today it is 0.7358 (1.3590) /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif Today is a good day to buy something from the US /forums/images/graemlins/whistling.gif
     
  13. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Oh woops, I was going on what I heard a few weeks ago /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif
     
  14. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    I just thought of something else to ask him, what did it come out of, a Furd or a GM. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  15. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Okay, we called him and he said it was GM /forums/images/graemlins/woot.gif
    So I asked what it was mated to, and unfortunatly, it was a th-350, so like Tim said, for now I will just hook it up to the 350 that is in there right now until a find a th400. I forgot to ask the condition it was in, what should I look for when I pick it up on monday, cracks or anything worn?
    One more question, where can I get the hardware to adapt the th350 to the np205 transfer case? Originally it was a 208 in there.
    Also, when I pick it up, what hardware do I need for it to hook up? Thanks...
     
  16. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Anyone there? Calling drivetrain guru's!
     
  17. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Please, can anyone help me? /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif
     
  18. Stephen

    Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Posts:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Carbondale Colorado
    Try to get the adapter, shifter and drivesleeve, that will let you hook it to the TH350 with minimal effort. If you can't get that stuff, we carry it but the used market is much friendlier price wise.
    Keep in mind that parts availability varies from area to area, the upper midwest seems to be utopia for drivetrain parts where the opposite extreme might be florida or california where you just don't have to have 4wd to get around and can't find stuff that easy. You have to gauge your area to see if it's worth it. Personally, from what I've seen, if you can get a 350 version 205 with the adapter for $300, go for it. Without the adapter, it might be worth shopping a little.
     
  19. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    so he should have the adapter to hook it up? Will he have the drivesleeve too? Obvisly he should have the shifter too.
     
  20. jac6695

    jac6695 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Christiansburg, VA
    Yes. Yes. And yes. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page