Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

205 support rods PICS Needed

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Mudstud, Aug 6, 2002.

  1. Mudstud

    Mudstud 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Posts:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Anybody have pics of how the rods connect between the tranny and case? I have a th350 and swapping in a 205 in place of the 203. Can I use the 2 short bars that go to the flex plate cover or do they require the thicker bellhousing-(I think it's called a 'k' bellhousing.) How/where do they bolt up in each instance? Can I run with the long one on the passenger side and forget about it?
     
  2. OLDSTEEL

    OLDSTEEL 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2000
    Posts:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SANDIEGO CA
    Just swaped the tranny out in my 74 and the rebuild shop said the bars ar not required unless it is a "K". My 205 / 350 set-up work great and has never had the bars
     
  3. nvrenuf

    nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Posts:
    13,078
    Likes Received:
    246
    Location:
    Mobile, Al.
    You'll need a "K" case tranny to run the 2 bars from the converter cover to the motor mounts. The "K" case has bosses cast into the side lips that a thicker converter cover bolts to, this thicker cover has 2 threaded holes to attach the lower end of the rods to. You would also need the 2 brackets that go between the motor mounts and the block to attach the top end of the rods

    The t-case rod goes from the 2 threaded holes on the side of the case up to the lowest right side bellhousing bolt. You don't have to run all 3 rods but ideally it would probably be best if you did.

    I personally don't have the the 2 motor mount rods on mine because of a large aftermarket oil pan but I do have the t-case bar.
     
  4. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    A few people on here have cracked the housings because the bars were missing if I recall. The K case is thicker all around, and you can bet GM didn't put those bars there just because it cost them money /forums/images/icons/smile.gif
     
  5. Mudstud

    Mudstud 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 29, 2001
    Posts:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Thanks all for the replys. I KNOW people who have cracked the adaptor because they didn't have the bar on there. I won't wheel mine until it's in place. Could someone measure the 205/th350 long bar for me please. On the tranny side measure from the surface that meets the tranny over to the far (furthest back) hole center on the case side. Thanks
     

Share This Page