Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

205 T-case and 700R4??

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by sapper, Sep 4, 2001.

  1. sapper

    sapper 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Posts:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVa
    Been thinking about tradeing the 241 for a 205. Do i need any kind of adaptors for this?

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradoK5.com/gallery/Pauls89K5>http://coloradoK5.com/gallery/Pauls89K5</a>
     
  2. dawson444

    dawson444 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Pretty sure you have to get a short output shaft put in the 700R4, which involves tearing the whole tranny apart. I have thought about it before, just not worth the hassle to me.

    Dawson
    Raleigh, NC

    88 K5, 6" lift, 36" TSL Radials, 14 Bolt, Rancho 9012s
     
  3. sapper

    sapper 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Posts:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVa
    that wouild be worth the hassel. i need to rebuild the tranny too.

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradoK5.com/gallery/Pauls89K5>http://coloradoK5.com/gallery/Pauls89K5</a>
     
  4. RedDwarf

    RedDwarf 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    Yes, you will need an adapter. They are available from Advance Adapters.
    They are pricey.

    Lift It, Lock It, LIVE IT!!!
     
  5. BIGJ

    BIGJ 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    This is what you will need: a short shaft from advance adapters, a 205 from a TH350, with the adapter, and probably the crossmember that came with the tranny/t-case combo. I did this swap a few years ago, and by far the most time consuming part was dropping the tranny to get the short shaft installed.

    BIGJ
     
  6. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    NP 205 from TH 350 is going to be hard to find. Around where I live, impossible to find. Good luck.

    Tim
    '84 Chevy K10, lifted, loud, fast, and 3/4 ton axles
     
  7. RESTORE89

    RESTORE89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2001
    Posts:
    548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CHAS SC
    why do you have to have a 205 xfer case from a th350
    my 700r has a 205 in it, or is this something that a previous owner changed?

    It needs a bigger motor.
    what's in it now?
    doen't matter it NEEDS A BIGGER MOTOR
    89 350tbi/700r4h/np208/4.11's
     
  8. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    If you have a 205 behind a 700r4 it is not factory. Your 89 should have a 241 t case.

    See <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Waynes-Toy>Project Mighty Mouse</a> here.
    <font color=blue>Wayne<font color=blue>
    <font color=blue>Happy Trails<font color=blue>
     
  9. BIGJ

    BIGJ 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    The th350 has a 27 spline output I believe, and that matches the 700r4. That isn't the only option, just the easiest. You could always change the input gear in the 205 to match the tranny, but that just adds to the expense.

    BIGJ
     
  10. Leadfoot

    Leadfoot 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Posts:
    3,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    700r4 = 27 splines
    TH350 = 27 splines
    700r4's never came with NP205's
    TH350's SOME came with NP205's
    You will need a NP205 from a TH350 (with adaptor and crossmember) for two reasons. A.) The 27 splines match B.) You need a short shaft installed in the 700r4 PLUS the TH350 to NP205 adaptor in order for the 700r4 to bolt up to the NP205. Not only does the 700r4 and TH350 share the same spline count, but they also share the same bolt pattern. Hope this helps.

    See my rig at <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Leadfoot>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Leadfoot</a>
     
  11. sapper

    sapper 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Posts:
    3,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVa
    Thanks Leadfoot. Off to the yard i go.

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradoK5.com/gallery/Pauls89K5>http://coloradoK5.com/gallery/Pauls89K5</a>
     
  12. BIGJ

    BIGJ 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Look for 72 or older chevy pickups &amp; blazers w/auto trannys.

    BIGJ
     
  13. Leadfoot

    Leadfoot 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Posts:
    3,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    Also in 1980 everthing came equipped with an NP205, so if it was TH350 equipped, you will find the transfer case, adaptor, drive sleeve, and crossmember. Just make sure it's the original drivetrain though.

    See my rig at <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Leadfoot>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Leadfoot</a>
     

Share This Page