Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

205 TCASE from a ford but 32 spline is it the same as for chevy ???

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by doctor4x4, Dec 16, 2002.

  1. doctor4x4

    doctor4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Posts:
    1,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    well i know the case is different but does anybody know if the 32 spline will fit the turbo 400 32 spline it was behind a ford sm465 manuel trany
    I want to take it all apart and use the parts on a chevy 205 case
    thanks
     
  2. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,178
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    I thought Ford was 31 spline? Also it would have been behind a NP435 I think...

    Rene
     
  3. doctor4x4

    doctor4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Posts:
    1,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    there ya go again Rene given good advice you really gotta start charging :-) mabe i got excited and counted an extra tooth /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif and mabe I should take a closer look at the tranny and see what's really going on
    thanks for the tip /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif
     
  4. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    Rene hit the nail on the head. Ford is 31 spline. /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  5. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    ...& NP435. He's 2 for 2.
     
  6. Md mudder

    Md mudder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2000
    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    here's an idea put the 31 spline input in your 205 then order a doubler with the 31 spline shaft.
     
  7. Batmanjr

    Batmanjr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    About it going in a chevy 205 that was behind a 400, The front output is different and the input, like said, is 31 spline! The good news is that the front output being 30 spline will go into an old style 8 bolt pattern 205! Did it a week ago! I still have the short input gear to put in my th400 205, but I will need a ford shaft!
     

Share This Page