Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

220$ to change my spark plug wires?!?!?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by MountainMan, Jan 8, 2005.

1. MountainMan

MountainMan Registered Member

So I had a local shop checkout my rig and they told me I needed new spark plug wires. THEN they told me it would be 100$ for the wires and 120$ for labor (1.5hrs)
    :confused: :confused: :confused:

so OF COURSE i did it myself (for the first time :grin: , yes i am a mechanical novice 30$ parts + 40mins labor), but before i call them asking them to explain. Is that normal??? Would any shop charge me that??? Or am i right in thinking that they are trying to screw me???

thanks K5ers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

$80 an hour for labor seems excessive to me but maybe thats the going rate around you. They were definetally quoting on someones scale of time though. It wouldn't have taken me more than 20 minutes to change plug wires, any mechanic worth his weight wouldn't take 1.5 hours. Not to mention they must be using solid gold plug wires, cause I've never seen a $100 set of wires. I wouldn't worry about them but I just wouldn't go back there for anything but inspection.

3. Drey

Drey 3/4 ton status

Just wondering while we are on the subject what does a set of top of the line MSD wires cost? would it matter V8 compared to V6 other then 2 less wires

4. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

5. daleearnhardt01

daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

Thats crazy, I did plug wires today on a Chevy truck and it took me around 25 mintues. :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:

6. sweetk30

sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

price info