Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

3.73 differentials

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by nicshorse, Apr 15, 2003.

1. nicshorse

nicshorse Registered Member

i am very new to all of this and have used the search function and can't find any thing about this:
    i just bought this bone stock K5 from my dad and he told me that pushing the blazer much passed 55 would hurt the diff's.he told me that since it was built in '77 that it was only designed as a 55 mph vehicle. all i need to know is if this is true or would i blow up the engine before i blow up the rear end. here is what i know about the truck:
    sb 400
    3.73 diff's
    29" tires
    tell me what you guys think.

2. georgiared84

georgiared84 1/2 ton status

That ratio is enough to drive regular highway speeds. What's your transmission?

3. nicshorse

i knew that was coming and i have no idea. i'll find out though.

4. georgiared84

If it's stock I think you've either got a th350 or sm465. (anyone know if they put th400's behind 400 small blocks) You're rear diff is a 12 bolt??? That's stronger than the rear ends they put in the eighties k5's (10 bolts) There's plenty of people here who have gears taller than 3.73 with the same transmissions that drive a tad above the speed limit on a regular basis. Those small tires will bring your rpm's up but if you're running a 400 with a decent trans and rear end there shouldn't be any problem.

5. R72K5

R72K5 Banned