Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

3 differentials . . . dana44 front, and two 3/4s out of 86 . . . ratios???

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by ratchetmaster, Apr 17, 2003.

1. ratchetmaster

ratchetmaster Registered Member

I found a guy with a dana 44. it has a tag on it that says . . . 45-11. and 4 09.
    Does the 45-11 indicate the ratio?? 45 divided by 11 equals 4.9 is this a 4.10 ratio??
    He wants 60 bucks for it . . . should I buy it if for nothing else to resell it??

He also has an 86 3/4 ton with 4.10 gear ratios. I don't want to change mine, but he needs to move then this weekend . . . and wants $150 for the set.
    Would I be able to buy them and sell them for a profit easily???

I am new to truck stuff and I was just looking for a trans for my truck that went out 3 weeks after buying it . . . and I ran across this stuff.

What do you all think???
    Thanks for all input. /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

2. heavy4x4

heavy4x4 1/2 ton status

[ QUOTE ]
    I found a guy with a dana 44. it has a tag on it that says . . . 45-11. and 4 09.
    Does the 45-11 indicate the ratio?? 45 divided by 11 equals 4.9 is this a 4.10 ratio??
    He wants 60 bucks for it . . . should I buy it if for nothing else to resell it??

[/ QUOTE ]
    Yes, 45 is the number of teeth on the ring gear and 11 is the teeth on the pinion. 45/11 gives you the ratio of 4.09 (4.10's).
    If I were you, I'd buy it from him for 60 bucks. If you don't use it, you could resell it for close to $200 (if it's complete and in good, swappable condition).

[ QUOTE ]
    He also has an 86 3/4 ton with 4.10 gear ratios. I don't want to change mine, but he needs to move then this weekend . . . and wants $150 for the set.