Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

30 amp in place of 15 in cd player?

Discussion in 'Audio' started by bryguy00b, Dec 3, 2003.

  1. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    i blew the 15 amp fuse in the back of my cd player and i was wondering if i could put a 30 inplace of it?
     
  2. daleearnhardt01

    daleearnhardt01 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,223
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I wouldnt......dont want your wires burnin up do ya. Trace down the prob and fix it. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  3. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    i know what the problem is i hooked the battery up backwards..(more like touched them..wasnt paying attention) and it sparked and then my radio wouldnt turn on..so i musta blown it..(its blown opon inspection)..guess ill run to the store and just pick up the right ones then /forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif
     
  4. unick

    unick 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Posts:
    4,286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego Comufornia
    you could probably get by running a 20 amp fuse for a little while. Just long enough to get u to the store to get a new 15. Putting stonger fuses in is never a good idea. They protect the wires and electronic components from frying.

    Nick
     
  5. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    well if there stronger than... /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif i dont get it..but all is good i just stole one from my s-10 (has no radio anyhow)..so its workin again /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  6. unick

    unick 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Posts:
    4,286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego Comufornia
    the fuses that are in there are weaker for a reason. They blow so your radio doesnt incase [darn] happens. Its a security device just like the circit breakers in your house. They flip so all your crap doesnt.

    Nick
     

Share This Page