Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

305 heads ona 350?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by dubl_t, Aug 3, 2002.

  1. dubl_t

    dubl_t 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Posts:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Is it true that putting 305 heads on a 350 will produce more torque?
     
  2. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    The smallish valves do seem to help port velocity at lower RPM But will choke it out on the top. The chamber volume is small also and can also put the compression ratio through the roof so beware of that. (high 10s low 11s) Be prepared to run high octane at the absolute least unless you get low compression pistons.

    Vortecs are a better alternative, and a pair can be had for under $500 new in the box.
     
  3. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    I did it on my 350.. I don't need to run high octane gas and yes I have better torque.. But my top end sucks.. Normal driving is fine.. But I can't tack over 5000. That is what I wanted
     
  4. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    Do you have a dish piston? The motor I had that had 305 heads on it ate starters and flywheels like it was cool. And I had to run 92-3 octane gas or it would ping knock belch and fart. It didnt like anything less.

    From what I was told after I got rid of it, by the guy that rebuilt it, was that it was a stock motor w/ those heads tossed on. It was an animal off the line in my Camaro but starved out at 4500-5000.
     
  5. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    So not sure of the dish pistons.. My brother does all my work.. It was bored 30 over thou.. And right at 5000 it craps out.. I also have cranes 327 300hp cam in it.. I have the timing set at 9.. I am going to back it down to 5 and see if that helps the top end..Dan
     
  6. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
  7. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    I don't need.. But I am going to set the timing back to see if I can..LOL
     
  8. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    I know the feeling. /forums/images/icons/wink.gif

    BTW did you notice that comment was link? Its to my webshots. Its the close up of my tach on recall @ 7800. /forums/images/icons/shocked.gif
     
  9. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Yep I saw that.. If I disconnect the vacum advance and set the timing at 4 or 5. I am hoping to get around 6300.. But not sure..Dan
     
  10. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    Hang on a second. Maybe Im wrong and thinking bass ackwards, but retarding timing helps LOW end torque. Not top end. I used to work w/ some roundy round guys that ran like 40* total advance. I might be wrong but I think you need to advance your timing. I didnt catch you said that above, I remember it but it didnt sink in. Now I am too tired to think too much. /forums/images/icons/tongue.gif Its one of those nites where I am dragging tired but cant go to sleep yet. Remember Dan, Im on the east coast and its almost 1 AM here so I may not be thinking too clearly. LOL!
     
  11. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Yea but if you go more then the cam wants it will kill it.. It is up to the cam.. I am not a mech. My brother is.. This is what he told me..
     
  12. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    Ill take your word for it. Like I said Im too tired. /forums/images/icons/shocked.gif <.....yawn.
     
  13. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    Yea I'm no mech..I have to go on my brothers word..LOL I'll give it a try next weekend and let you now...LOL
     
  14. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    Yeah see how it works. Im curious now. LOL!
     
  15. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    So am I.. I have to help a friend do some body work tomorrow..But if I get a chance I might try it...
     
  16. backyardbuilt

    backyardbuilt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Olathe, Kansas
    I have them on mine with stock pistons I have a blue racer 280 cam and a edelbroch performer intake with a 750 holly and in the mud I tach it too 6500 with no problems great off the line at mud runs too I run 89 octane most off the time but I found a guy at an airport here that I can get 115 octane for free ran a bog yesterday man what a difference!!
     

Share This Page