Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

33's on 3.08's should be fine right?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by anatomiczero, Nov 4, 2002.

1. anatomiczero

anatomiczero 1/2 ton status

33\'s on 3.08\'s should be fine right?

Well I'm selling my computer to a friend for $1,200 (will use parent's for a while) and I'll have some money saved. Right now I have 32 x 10 or 11.5's. So going to 33x 12.5's shouldn't be a big difference right? I also want to lift it 2.5" because the front springs bottom out going over speed bumps a little fast /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif

Oh, and is it going to be close to 1 grand for 3.73 gears installed?

2. Rolled

Rolled 1/2 ton status

Re: 33\'s on 3.08\'s should be fine right?

I'm no expert but I just made the same decisions.

3.08 and big tires = low rpm at 65mph = no power

Instead of putting in new gears, I rounded up some used 3.73's - rotor to rotor - drum to drum. $100 for the set and a weekends worth of work.

My 3.08's did run and drive fine though (35's.) However, I did not wheel or tow with them. I also spent alot of time in 2nd gear just getting around town...

3. anatomiczero

I'll eventually get 3.73 or 4.11 gears, just making sure it wont' be too bad until I can afford them because my tires don't have a lot of tread left and the springs bottom out.

Oh and should I stick with BFG A/T or get their mud ones? It's my daily driver and I live in WA (rain & snow) don't do a whole lot of off-roading (for now anyway). Would the mud tires wear a lot faster than the A/T and be a lot louder?

4. 85 blazer

85 blazer 1/2 ton status

If your going to keep your 33s then 373 will be ok I had 33s with 411 and at 65 was running 3100 rpm so jumped to 36 TSLs

5. Sandman

Sandman 3/4 ton status Author