Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

350? NOT T-case

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 1979chevystepside, Dec 21, 2006.

  1. 1979chevystepside

    1979chevystepside Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    i know ive asked a lot of tcase questions lately, but thats because my tcase is sketchy...203.

    anyway i have a 350 4 bbl quadajet HEI dist. motor in my truck. i have many a questions for my fellow ck5ers.

    first let me tell yall what it is doing. the truck idles great and runs down the road pretty good. however if your going up a hill the thing will start missing real bad and if i give it more gas it stalls out. also if im in the woods it seems just to flood out eventually just at low speed driving, however ive only noticed it wheeling.

    So far ive check the plugs, there fine. open the carb up, its as clean as it was when i rebuilt it not to long ago. played with those two little jets? things in the front of it. how many turns out do most people have those? and played with timing (which didnt do much for me). Im starting to run outta ideas. the rotor, cap, plugs, and wires were replaced after i bought the truck (less than 1 year). air filter is clean. i just dont know fellows im about lost here? i also read in the book that a through the wire timing light wouldnt work? whats up with that? i think thats all my questions for now and any advice to get this stupid thing running would be great. its just really frustrating trying to fix a driveablity problem. TIA and i really appreciate the help.

    oh yes on a more positive note, the last 2 days ive fixed my tcase and bolted the bed on the truck, yeah thats right the last guy that owned it didnt have the bed hooked to the truck in any way
     
  2. TexasBlazerBoy

    TexasBlazerBoy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Texas
    You didn't mention it so I am just asking? Did you replace the fuel filter?:confused:
     
  3. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,969
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    Acha. Take the fuel filter in the carb out, if there's one in there, and fling it as far as you can.

    Then get an external inline filter, like a Fram G15, IIRC, and be done with it =))

    -- A
     
  4. 1979chevystepside

    1979chevystepside Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    sorry yes it is a new fuel filter in it, is it restrictive or something?
     
  5. 1979chevystepside

    1979chevystepside Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    also someone else recommended resetting the float level. how would i do that. i dont remember doing anything to it when i rebuilt it
     
  6. TexasBlazerBoy

    TexasBlazerBoy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Texas
    What exactly are you talking about as far as an inline filter?
     
  7. 1979chevystepside

    1979chevystepside Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    he is saying take the one in the front of the carb out for a big flow through type (think lawn mower only bigger)
     
  8. TexasBlazerBoy

    TexasBlazerBoy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Texas

    Would that help when driving uphill or other situations when the carb is not receiveing a enough fuel?:confused:
     
  9. 58 apache

    58 apache 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    clarksville,Va home of the body bag
    need more info.. what carb? have u ckecked fuel line pressure? could be pump going.elec pump or manual? do u have a fuel pressure regulator?? in line fuel filter is a good idea. those two jets in front? are u talking about the a/f mix screws? those only adjust the at idle mix...
     
  10. 1979chevystepside

    1979chevystepside Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    its a 4bbl quadrajet with eletric choke dont know more than that. its a manual pump that seems to be working (meaning i turned it over with the hose disconnected and it pumped), i dont have a regulator on it that i know of? there maybe the factory one somewhere but i havent touched anything like that. but that would be something to check
     
  11. roadnotca

    roadnotca 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
  12. 58 apache

    58 apache 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    clarksville,Va home of the body bag
    i would start with a good inline filter between pump and carb
     
  13. Jason4x4

    Jason4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4,505
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    first thing in my mind is an exhaust restriction, i'm thinking catylitic converter getting plugged.
     
  14. 1979chevystepside

    1979chevystepside Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    yeah its a bama truck fellas and i know the exhaust isnt restricted with no cats and straights out the back haha. doesnt have any egr or anything on it
     
  15. TimeWarp

    TimeWarp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yucaipa Ca.
    Sounds Like your Floats sticking to me.
     
  16. 1979chevystepside

    1979chevystepside Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville AL
    yeah i have a guy i know that is going to help me with floats on the carb
     

Share This Page