Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

350 TBI HEAD GASKET

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by rh88k5, Mar 7, 2003.

1. rh88k5

rh88k5 Registered Member

Ok, I'm new to tbi, aside from the extras its the same as "carbed" head gasket replacement right? just mark everything and put it back, no hidden dangers right?

2. 4DiggerDan

4DiggerDan 1/2 ton status

No, its pretty straight forward. DO NOT put the steel (AKA early style) head gaskets on any 350 built after 78 or so. Use only the "composition" style. Lots of guys like to run the steel gaskets to make up for some of GM's deficiencies in quench height and get a little more compression out of their motor. If you stay with like a Fel-Pro or something, you'll be okay.