Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

350 vs. 400 whats the difference?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by SoulStyles, Jan 9, 2003.

1. SoulStyles

SoulStyles Registered Member

All right, I bout a 1977 Jimmy and I presumed it had a 350 in it. I ran the VIN number against GM's vin codes and it says my Jimmy was equipped with a 400. How can I tell if my engine is a 400 or a 350? Im new to 4x4ing so I could use a little help.

Thanks a lot.

2. MNorby

MNorby 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

I usually check for holes drilled or weights on the harmonic balancer. There is also a freeze plug difference sometimes but to me it is easier to check the balancer

3. BurbinOR

BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

Also check the block, should have 509 cast in it down underneath in front of the starter in numbers about 1" high.

If it is a 400, that's a late Xmas present in my book. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

4. SoulStyles

so if it has the 509 cast in the block it is a 400?

5. reddog64

reddog64 1/2 ton status

The difference?

My 400 spit a rod through the #4 cylindar wall at 10,000 miles.... /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif
    My 350 hasnt.... /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

6. bigmack

bigmack 1/2 ton status

You can also get the casting numbers off the back of the block beside the distributor and go to mortec.com and identify which you have. Cross your fingers /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif.

7. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member