Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

366 in a truck?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by not4show, Jul 27, 2001.

  1. not4show

    not4show 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    Would a 366 engine out of a C-60, or 2 1/2 ton, be a good engine to put in a pickup truck or a Blazer?

    Never put a stupid move passed a stupid person.
     
  2. Twiz

    Twiz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Posts:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clearfield Ut.
    No!

    Twiztid
     
  3. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    NOPE!!

    <font color=blue>Daddy told me while learning to pee......"if you shake it more than twice, then you are playing with it!!!"</font color=blue>
     
  4. not4show

    not4show 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    Just out of pure curiosity and personal knowledge; why not?

    Never put a stupid move passed a stupid person.
     
  5. Neil

    Neil 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2001
    Posts:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dothan,Alabama
    The main reason I would not use a 366 myself is parts are not easy to find for 366s usually. At least not around my area they're not. I have seen them only at Army surplus sales is all from Big Army troop carrying trucks! Big blocks like 396,402,427,454 are easier to find than 366 parts even. The 366 is a good torque motor, not intended for everyday driving or street driving at all. A workhorse motor for farm and military trucks. This is just my $.02 though. If you need a good motor choice , I will be glad to help ya out if I can. I personally wouldn't ever put a 366 in my K5 though.

    Neil H.. Alabama.. '78 K5 400ci 4x4 AT,AC,PW Cheyenne. '74 C10 3spd/floor 250ci 4x2
     
  6. Twiz

    Twiz 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Posts:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clearfield Ut.
    366= boatanchor. No resson to run a big block that only displaces 366 cubes. In my opinion, there is no resson to run a big block of less than 427 cubes. 396s are O.K., but if someone can build a 383 s.b. and save the weight- than why use a 396 b.b.

    366 engines are for dump trucks. A small block just couldn't take the beating and extream use. On the other hand, a dump truck doesn't realy need the power and fuel mpg of a 454- so they made an exteam duty 366 big block. I don't know all the specs of it, but I'd bet the water jackets are huge, same thing with the cyl walls- all of that extra iron and cooling would help keep the engine alive for meny meny miles/years. Perfect for a company owned dump truck thing. But not realy needed for your average joe.

    Does anyone know the bore/stroke of a 366?

    Twiztid
     
  7. not4show

    not4show 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Posts:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    Thanks for the info guys. I sorta knew there was a good reason why you never see those engines in a regular truck or Blazer.

    Never put a stupid move passed a stupid person.
     
  8. Andreas

    Andreas 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Bore 3.935" Stroke 3.76". Talldecks only. 366 Pistons use three rings and the oilring, instead of the common two + oilrings. Agreed with the above. It´s just too small for a BB to even bother.

    /Andreas


    406cui of pure sh*t[​IMG]
     
  9. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    The bigger trucks like the dump trucks and grain trucks use these motors. They were available in the 366 and 427 cubic inch versions. Dont be confused with the 427. There are 2 versions of them. The 'truck' block is a tall deck, as is the 366. The standard 427, that everyone wants, is out of cars, is the standard 'hi-perf' casted on the block.

    The 'tall deck' truck motors are harder to come by on parts. The only thing the 'tall decks' would be good for is if you were building a STROKER motor!!! [​IMG]

    If you have the time and $$$$ to build a STROKER motor, then by all means, buy the truck motors for just the block. You can do pretty radical combos with rods, pistons, and bigger cranks.

    <font color=blue>Daddy told me while learning to pee......"if you shake it more than twice, then you are playing with it!!!"</font color=blue>
     
  10. pcorssmit

    pcorssmit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Posts:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I'd say if you have the motor and can put it in with a minimal cash outlay, then maybe. But I wouldn't go out of my way to do it. I used to drive company trucks (24' box trucks), one w/a carbed 366/5 spd, and one with a TBI 427/6 spd. The 366 wasn't much of a hotrod. The 427 had pretty good power. The 427 had a tach, it was governed at 4000 but would happily run there all day long (at 72 mph in 6th).

    Pete

    '83 K5, 350 TBI (ex 6.2), 700R4, NP208, Dana 60/14 bolt, 4.56s, Detroits, 3" lift, 15-39.5x15 TSLs
    '97 Dodge 2500 4x4 CC LB Sport, Cummins 5 spd
     

Share This Page