Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

383 ci in a 1990?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by skelly1, Dec 13, 2003.

  1. skelly1

    skelly1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Has anyone installed a 383 stroker SBC in place of the stock 350 with EFI? My 350 has 250K miles and is tired. I would like to rebuild it to a 383 with some cool cam, but not sure if it's worth it with a stock EFI system.
     
  2. Derf00

    Derf00 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Posts:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Abilene, TX
    Yep. 383 w/MPFI, stock computer with a custom chip.
     
  3. ben427

    ben427 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Posts:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waverley, Nova Scotia
    Or do like im am about to, build a 383 with a 454 throttlebody and a custom chip from turbocity.
     
  4. skelly1

    skelly1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    If you use the 454 TBI unit, is there anything else you will need to change? Will the 350 computer work for that too?
     
  5. SF87K5

    SF87K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Posts:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stedman, North Carolina
    Like ben427 you will need a custom chip for your computer.
     
  6. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    I believe you will need an adapter harness for the TPS switch.
     
  7. BigRed89

    BigRed89 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Posts:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    You can use your stock 350ci TBI unit if you don't want to go out and buy a 454ci TBI unit. If you use the stock TBI don't go too radical on the cam. I used the 350 TBI on an '89 Sub and didn't have any problems. You will definitely need the aftermarket chip and Turbo City is a great place to have that done. Definitely consult with Turbo City and with the cam manufacturer of your choice as to what cam you should run.
     

Share This Page