Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

383 or 350?

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by clubba68, May 2, 2003.

1. clubba68

clubba68 1/2 ton status

The truck I am looking at has been stroked 383 according to its owner. It was apparently done before he owned it so not sure of shop that did it. Is there any way of telling by looking at markings, anything whether it is actually 383 or he is just blowin' smoke?
    Thanks,
    Andrew

2. MJF

MJF 1/2 ton status

I'm no expert but I think you have to pull it apart to find out. If my thinking is right, a 383 is a 350 block with a 400 crank, rods, & ????(not sure what else).

3. Ryan B.

Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

Yep, a 383 would be a bored and stroked 350.
    You'd be able to tell by measuring the bore and stroke, which is easiest to determine when the engine is apart.

350 = 4.000" x 3.48"
    400 = 4.125" x 3.75"

383 = 4.030" x 3.76" (5.565" or 5.7" or 6.0" rod)
    350 block bored .030" over and a 400 crank, main bearing crank journals turned down to 350 size.

The thing that really determines it is the stroke of the engine... You could pull a head off and measure the cylinder to find it is .030" over, but that won't tell you if its a 030 over 350, or if it has a stroker crank making it a 383.

I don't know of any easy way to identify what you have since it's the internals that determine it.

4. Beast388

Beast388 1/2 ton status

One option you may have is to look for the externally balanced harmonic dampner and flywheel. Most, but not all 383's will have these because most stroker cranks are externally balanced.

It isn't a sure way to tell, but if you run the block numbers and it says 350, but it has the ex. balanced dampner & flywheel, most likely it is a 383. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif