Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

383 Piston options

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by SnackPack, Jul 24, 2005.

1. SnackPack

SnackPack 1/2 ton status

Hey guys, This is my first post. I bought a 1987 K5 (TBI 350) a few months ago, and it spun a rod bearing shortly after purchase. I've removed the block and sent it to the machinist. I asked the machinist to do the block modifications for a stroker, so I guess all I need now is the right rotating assembly setup. I'm no expert on the issue, and this is a low-budget project.

My plan is to get the bottom end rebuilt as a stroker, and leave some of the top end modifications for later, since they don't require removal of the engine. For this reason, I'll probably go with some stock heads with my TBI for now. This is where my question comes in. What kind of pistons (flat top, dished, or a good target compression) should I get that will work well with a stock cylinder head, but leave room for upgrading those and keeping good compression. I'm not big on having to run premium gas, so I guess keeping a low compression is what I need (correct me if I'm wrong?).

Also related, what would be a good cheap cylinder head solution other than using stock heads?

Thanks for your help!

SnackPack

2. ryan22re

ryan22re 1/2 ton status

if you don't mind spending $400 for an intake, vortec heads would be the best bet. best place to find a used set is a gm dealer. find one that sells alot of engines. the 96-99 vortec 5.7's only have a $100 core on them. with tax, i got a set of vortec heads for $105. if you go with a cam less than .420 lift, you can bolt them on with no mods (cept for the intake).

ryan

3. ryan22re

ryan22re 1/2 ton status