Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

396 BBC in a first gen

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by aksidentproan, Apr 5, 2002.

  1. aksidentproan

    aksidentproan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Posts:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    How difficult is it to fit a 396 in a first gen blazer? Thanks

    Evan
     
  2. SnowNuts

    SnowNuts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit ,U.S.A. HOCKEYTOWN
    My first chevy trucks that I got hooked by were stock BIg Blocks..The 70 Chevy Cheyenne had a 396 factory bored 30 thousannths over with all TRW parts which made it a 402. That truck had a Muncie four speed in it and from a 10 mile an hour roll not much could touch it. The next truck was my first Blazer & it had the same 402 with the automatic & it rocked also but in the mud! The big block parts are out there but people don't like to let the original stuff go . GOOD LUCK
     
  3. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,680
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    I don't know how HARD it was.....but that's what the P.O. put in mine! It's stroked to a 427, but it's based on the 396 block. From what I've been told, the 396 uses the small block motor mounts (like the standard 350s) so there's nothing weird about that part of the conversion.

    The only obvious problem might be the clearance between the valvecovers and the firewall. That's pretty "tight" on mine.
     
  4. aksidentproan

    aksidentproan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Posts:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Greg - Do you have a body lift?

    Evan
     
  5. Crushergmc

    Crushergmc 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    The 2wd did come with different motor mounts for the big block. Not sure about the 4wd but I think they were different to. I'll ask the question on www.67-72chevytrucks.com and I'm sure someone will know.
     
  6. Greg72

    Greg72 "Might As Well..." Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    15,680
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Location:
    642 Days to BB2018
    Yep...... 2" Body Lift

    That makes a difference too.....REAL important, I should have remembered that too.
     
  7. Tommy

    Tommy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2000
    Posts:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    I bolted my SB mounts to my 427, bolted it right in, oh yea, did have to modify the crossmember a bit to clear the oil pan. Nothing like a BB grunt!
     
  8. SnowNuts

    SnowNuts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Posts:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit ,U.S.A. HOCKEYTOWN
    Ya gotta love bigblock grunt & nothin will push you thru mud like all that torque. I just paid $1500.00 for a 72 blazer that has afresh 350 in it with a new Edelbrock intake & carb so I will see what tha same setup will do with that ...RPM vs Torque here I come!
     

Share This Page