Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 "292CI"

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Looksback, Nov 13, 2002.

  1. Looksback

    Looksback 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Posts:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    I have been tring to put a 4 barrel carb on my 292ci inline six, but the intake manifolds are vary expensive about $219.99 + S&H "From JC Whitney", but I do not have that kind of money would anybody out there have one thay might be tring to gett rid of?

    Thanks for the time
    LooksBack
     
  2. chulisohombre

    chulisohombre 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Posts:
    4,141
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Bangor,Pa
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    i dont have one but i would like to see a pic when you do get it together.i dont think you could run A very big carb on a 6 cylander.what are you thinking of running?
     
  3. efilnikufecin

    efilnikufecin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Posts:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    flint,mi
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    you mightwant to check clifford performance.they make a ton of I-6 perfprmance goodies.
     
  4. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,224
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    If you want to get by cheap you can just run an adapter but then you have a limitation of the opening in the stock manifold. Does your motor have a 1 or 2 barrel to start with? The 2 bbl stock manifold would be a good upgrade from a 1 bbl and a 2 to 4 bbl adapter would be ok and still keep it cheap.
     
  5. Looksback

    Looksback 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Posts:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    Well for one, the 292ci has a one barrel carb on it, but I was hopeing of putting a 4 barrel one it, but there is one thing I am worried about, that is trying to find a air cleaner that is not to large because the brake master cylinder would be in the way.
    But there is an intake manifold in the 1947-1954 Chevy-Duty catalog that 2 one barrel carb's can fit on. I can post a photo of my current set-up in about 2 hours. will put a lik on to look at.
     
  6. ds350

    ds350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Posts:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    2 barrel would be your best bet....Clifford has everything you will need. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  7. Looksback

    Looksback 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Posts:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    Well here is the link for the photos of the current set up I now have: http://www.geocities.com/looksback/Supply.html
    Dose -Clifford- Have a web Site?, I have seen a intake that uses two, one barrel carb's, I think that would be my best choice, because most air cleaners would be to large and my master brake cylinder would be in the way.

    LooksBack
     
  8. 87sm465np208

    87sm465np208 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    illinois
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    ive seen it done on ferds 300ci I-6, i hear that they make the horsepower and torque gains, personally if i had an ol' 4x4 truck with that setup, id go for it, id put that thing on there

    /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif
     
  9. ben427

    ben427 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Posts:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Waverley, Nova Scotia
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    http://www.cliffordperformance.com id say stick with a two barrel because a 292 wont use that much gas, it will just be overfeuled.
     
  10. Looksback

    Looksback 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Posts:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    Also how would daul exaust work, the exaust manifolds can be bought, but that much loss of compression on a six?. but with a two 1 barrel carb's maybe a good idea?

    Looksback
     
  11. u2slow

    u2slow 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    I put a Clifford 4V intake and headers on my '66 C10 w/250 c.i. along with a 600cfm Holley. The headers have 2-1/2" collectors and run into a dual-in/dual-out Borla. She's loud alright! I didn't have room to store my truck, and my buddy needed wheels.... so he's driving it /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif

    The intake, headers, and carb cost me about $750 CDN
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The heated water jacket was essential. It would not run properly until it was plumbed in. The headers were shorties, and NOT for a manual transmission... I had to fab up a tight 90* to get past the bellcrank.

    I wanted a 390cfm 4V, but it would have cost me double what the 600 did, less common I guess. The 4V *should* be more streetable than a 2V, since you cruise with only two barrels open anyway, and half of 390 is a mere 180cfm. I couldn't find a universal Holley-type 2V carb under 500cfm. This Clifford intake can be had with two different top plates - a Holley 4V (which I got) or a Holley 2V.

    I'm using an air cleaner off an 87-93 4.3L TBI S-10 pickup.

    There's a more complete write-up on a 292 4V at Truckworld:
    http://www.truckworld.com/How-To-Tech/Chevrolet-Engine/Chevy-engine.html
     
  12. Blazer79

    Blazer79 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Guatemala, Central America
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    If power is what you're looking for, why not find a working used 350 and swap it in there?
     
  13. Looksback

    Looksback 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Posts:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    Good idea, I will have to keep an eye out for some air cleaners from an S-10 "4.3L do thay have 3 cylinders on each side?" The reason I do not just go with a V8 265, 283, 305, & 350. well not sure, I would rather keep the truck sort of orginal and stay with the 292. Another thing I like the MPG, but would like a few more horses under the hood.

    LooksBack
     
  14. u2slow

    u2slow 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    The reason I stuck with the "six" was the neat factor. The 350 would be hard on the SM420 (rated for 281 lb-ft). I didn't have V8 frame brackets, and driveshaft needed to be lengthened.

    Nice room under the hood with the six too!
     
  15. nvrenuf

    nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Posts:
    13,081
    Likes Received:
    250
    Location:
    Mobile, Al.
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    Don't mean to side track this thread but since you guys are talking about 292 stuff... Does anyone know of a source for the engine crossmember and motor mount brackets for a 292? These would have to be out of a 73-86 4wd. I have looked around the local salvage yards with no luck and GM has discontinued them.

    U2Slow if you want to swap I've got a crossmember with brackets for a V8 out of an 84 K30... /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  16. rodzzilla

    rodzzilla 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grinnell, IA
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    How soon do you need them? I have a line on a 77 K30 w/a 292. Trying to talk the owner out of it. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  17. nvrenuf

    nvrenuf NONE shall pass! Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Posts:
    13,081
    Likes Received:
    250
    Location:
    Mobile, Al.
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    No rush on needing the stuff, it's for a project that I'm collecting parts for (right now it's a bare frame). I've got most of the drivetrain but I still need to find a body before I start.

    If you get it, let me know what you want for the crossmember/brackets because I'll definitely need them.

    Thanks! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  18. Looksback

    Looksback 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Posts:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montana
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    Also I was woundering how would a two speed rear end work with a 292ci, and are thay easy to find? my normal gears are 4.56:1 "I think".

    Looksback
     
  19. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    A buddy of mine rebuilt a 258 Jeep I-6 a few years ago and gave it the whole Clifford treatment. Intake, headers, cam, and a Holley 390 CFM 4 barrel carb. He was VERY happy with the results!!!! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  20. u2slow

    u2slow 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Re: 4 barrel Carb on a inline 6 \"292CI\"

    Do you know for sure if a 292 4x4 was ever offered? /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif I've only seen them with a 250 c.i. Not trying to rain on anyones parade... it could be just a like a 454 K-Suburban - sounds sensible, but never offered.

    I'm dredging through my memory here... but aren't the 250c.i. mounts the same as V8 mounts on a 73-up 4x4? Now if it is, the only difference between the 250 and 292 is the passenger side mount sits further back, correct? Couldn't you just drill/cut the rivets and mount the frame bracket where it needs to be? At least the engine-side of the bracket, and the rubber mount itself, interchange from 2wd to 4wd.

    I've got a crossmember with brackets for a V8 out of an 84 K30...

    Thanks, but I've got lots of that stuff. I'm parts rich and time poor! /forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif
     

Share This Page