Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

4" Lift Kit Help

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Rad Tad, Jan 15, 2005.

1. Rad Tad

Rad Tad Registered Member

After going cross-eyed searching the previous threads :crazy:, I've decided to make my own. I have just recently bought a Pro-Comp 4" lift kit with new front springs and rear blocks. I am wanting to know if there is anything that I need to watch for when installing the kit. I do have a fair ammount of mechanical knowledge. I've been in the Air National Guard :usaflag: for a few years and have almost gotten my A&P (airframe & powerplant) license. However, this is my first time installing a lift. Any tips/tricks would be greatly appriciated.

Thanks
    -Mike

p.s. I guess it would help to know that the kit is for a stock 1990 k-5

2. scrappyk5

scrappyk5 1/2 ton status

for starters , make sure your wheels are straight before you dis connect the drag link , and do not move the wheels at all before you hook it back up to the drop arm.
    when you remove the old steering arm , it has cone washers , so beat down on it and the sides. this will help unseat the washers. do not beat up on it.

of course spray some wd or pb blaster on the bolts and nuts of the springs maybe the night before. they might be a pain to loosen.

make sure you have the blocks facing the right way.

thats all i can think of for now . others shall chime in here.

3. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

Its a pretty straightforward remove and replace . I would forgo the drop brakeline brackets and get longer lines . I would forgo the blocks too for a shackle flip , but if its all you got OR all you can afford its ok for now :k5: :k5:

4. jekquistk5

jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner