Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

400sbc flex plate

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by potionmaker, Jan 25, 2006.

  1. potionmaker

    potionmaker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    I just pulled out the old 305sb from my '86 blazer and ready to install the 400sb. I thought I need to change the flex plate but they are both 168-tooth plates and same size. Is the difference in the balancing (305 = internal and 400 = external)? How can you tell the flex plates apart? Thanks everyone for the help!!
    BB
     
  2. potionmaker

    potionmaker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Here's an in-process shot (first time posting a pic, let me know if you can see it)
     
  3. potionmaker

    potionmaker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    mmkay...that didnt work. Hmmmmmmmm. Gonna have to investigate
     
  4. ou8mud2

    ou8mud2 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stow, Oh
    flexplate issues

    you are right that a 400 is externally balanced. you should be able to see small counterweights welded to the flexplate off of the 400. that should be the difference between the two.
    SS
     
  5. Beast388

    Beast388 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Posts:
    3,039
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clinton, IA USA
    2nd that!:D
     
  6. Chaddy

    Chaddy 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Posts:
    4,110
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Salt Lake City,Utah
    3d that. The weights must be in the same spot.
     
  7. potionmaker

    potionmaker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Posts:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    aaaahhhhh....i got it now. Thanks for clearing that up for me. I know this is gonna sound stupid, but any pointers for posting pics would be great. I tried the attachment button (paper clip thingy) several times but had no luck.:1zhelp:

    BB
     

Share This Page