Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

454 Question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by mtnman210, Jun 9, 2005.

1. mtnman210

mtnman210 1/2 ton status

I've been reading up on rebuilding the 454 that came with the k5 when I bought it. I looked up the casting number and it shows that it came from a corvette and with a hp of 270. Now I'm fairly new to working with engines so I'm seeking some advice. I looked up some newer 454 crate motors and they show around 425horsepower and 500 lbs of torque. Can I get those kind of numbers from my block without superchargin it or using nitrous?

2. sweetk30

sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

easy to do with the correct parts. and just about as easy to hit 450 hp. but bbc motors hit a kind of big wall at around 500 or more hp with out big parts and milage concers. but yes to your question.

p.s. dont forget you want tourqe to get big stuff moving and then hp to keep it moving. are big trucks need bottom end grunt not all top end power.

3. k20

k20 3/4 ton status

Yep, sure can. Its so low, because it was probably from the era of high emissions requirements, so low compression, lotsa smog crap. Raise the compression, better flowing heads, big valves, and your ready to rock. I got a 454 out of a part suburban, was planning a fairly stock rebuild, saw it was 4 bolt mains and went hog wild. It was factory rated at 235 I believe, according to desktop dyno(of course its now a 496), it is now 460hp, and 600ft/lbs :D :D

4. mtnman210

mtnman210 1/2 ton status

wow awesome responses...Thanks guys
    I was hoping that was the answer. it just got me nervous when I saw the low numbers. I went with the BB for the UUMMMPPFFF it would give me. So I was just caught off gaurd.