Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

4Hi doesnt engage after body lift UPDATED!!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by MudNurI, Dec 27, 2001.

1. MudNurI

MudNurI 1/2 ton status

Your help is needed----

When I bought my truck I knew 4 HI didn't engage- it use to, before the body lift was done- but now it doesnt...John has no idea's... and I am totally lost. Other than cutting up my floor which I really dont want to do- what can I do? A longer shifter? the boots sit perfectly on the floor like they are suppose to, even when I try 4Hi, but no luck engaging it-- For those of you with body lifts, what did you do? please try to be a little "descriptive" in your replys,, I'm still learning this lingo thing you all have! Thanks!

UPDATED----

I just got reply from Stephen- he has something to work with the 1" but not a 3" -- I need someone who has the 208- that has a 3" body lift, how did you correct the 4Hi engaging problem????? someone has to have this combination!!
    --Brandy

LOVING the new Duramax!!!<P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by MudNurI on 12/28/01 09:24 AM.</FONT></P>

2. Ddragggon

Ddragggon 1/2 ton status

Re: 4Hi doesnt engage after body lift what do I need?

are you rolling slowly forward when you try to shift? my NP205 can be cantankerous, and slowly rolling forward (let truck start rolling, pull stick to 4 hi, or let truck start rolling, put neutral, and shift 4 lo) can often help it mesh up properly. I wouldn't think that the body lift would interfere with the shifter at all, but who knows...

as usual, I don't always know what I'm talking about, and this is just what works on my truck... if someone else more authoritavely comes on and gives a better answer, I'd say follow that.

good luck with it,

-Rich