Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

4l80e

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Brians89K5, Jan 24, 2006.

  1. Brians89K5

    Brians89K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rialto Ca.
    I've gone though a bunch of discussions on this but wasn't really able to find the answer I was looking for. I was debating rebuilding my 700r4 or putting in a 4l80e. I use my truck to tow a lot and I know the 700 has problems with overheating and towing. Im guessing the costs would be about the same to build a strong 700 as they would be to put a 4l80 in. How do we solve the fact that the 4l80 is electronically controlled? What would I need to get the 4l80 to work on my 89 K5? Does anyone have a list of part that I could use as a reference? Thanks a bunch!


    ~Brian
     
  2. 1979jimmy350

    1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor Mi
    you could buy a stand alone computer that would control your tranny, you could swap in the electrionics from a truck that had one to start with or you could buy a manual valve body if you do not mind shifting your tranny on your own.
     
  3. 1-ton

    1-ton 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Posts:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    I am guessing that if you got the right ECM that controlled a a chevy V8 engine and a 4L80E transmission combonation...that would work. I have a 1991 V3500 with a 4L80E, and a 5.7 Liter engine. If you went to a parts store, and bought a reconditioned ECM for this year and make of truck, then you could probably use it to control your engine, and any 4L80E you got your hands on.
     
  4. Brians89K5

    Brians89K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rialto Ca.
    Where could I pick up a stand alone computer? I don't mind shifting the truck manually. Thats no biggie. Since I am new to this late model stuff, I would assume that the newer ECM would have two seperate outputs, one for the transmission and one for the engine? Do you know if the proms are the same or would I have to re-wire the existing harness? Thanks for the quick response!



    ~Brian
     
  5. AussieK5

    AussieK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2001
    Posts:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    A land girt by sea
  6. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,540
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    dont forget 4 bolt adaptor 700 and 6 bolt adaptor 4l80-e. then 27 spline 700 and 32 spline 4l80-e. and all you need to swap in a 4l80-e is basicly a computer and a raw tach signal , water temp , throttle position signle, and map signal. as you have a tbi motor truck it would be easy. just find a stand alone harness and tyi in to these signals and good to go.
     

Share This Page