Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

4x2 to 4x4 conversion

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 79burb, May 21, 2003.

1. 79burb

79burb Newbie

newbie here I tried the search funtion with no luck so here we go.. I have a 79 burb wanting to put it on a 4x4 frame I have a 75 3/4 truck frame with the snowplow hubs I have measured it they are close on the wheel base so is their any hidden thing I need to be aware of??? <font color="blue"> </font> /forums/images/graemlins/burb.gif

2. deek

deek 1/2 ton status

really don't know,,, but I'm gonna say yes! theres always something thats gonna pop up unexpected. I think it's a proven fact or something /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

3. bad andy

bad andy 1/2 ton status

i believe suburban frames use the same frame as one of the pickups, probably the regular cab long bed so if thats what u have i think it should work.

4. 79burb

79burb Newbie

Yeah they measured the same but I didn't know if they had all the right bends and body mounts

5. the professor

the professor 1/2 ton status

NOOOOOOO..
    --
    The 'burban has a 3" shorter wb than a LWB puck-up
    --
    The frame, from the firewall back is different...mounting points etc...
    --
    The rear of the frame, behind the rear axle, comes out at a different angle..
    --
    ALL the running gear will interchange, EXCEPT the drive shaft...
    --
    It would be fairly easy to convert the 2wd frame to 4wd... It only involves grinding off some rivits, drilling holes and using bolts instead...

I have done it both ways, 2wd to 4wd, and 4wd to 2wd...

Your entire 2wd front end comes out with a bunch of bolts, only 2 rivits on the sway bar mount need to be ground..