Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

4x4 conversion questions from a newbie

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 82smokindiesel, Oct 4, 2004.

1. 82smokindiesel

82smokindiesel Newbie

This is my first time posting here, but a long time reader of this site. I have a 1982 Chevy K20 6.2/400/208. I wanna put a sm465 instead of the 400 because its going south on me. I was "told" that the 465 will go right in where i needed it to go, as long as i have the adaptor to go between the tranny and transfer since its already a 400 turbo. i already have a 465 but its from a 2wd, will that still work with it? i was told that i would, or will i have to get the 4x4 tranny, from what ive saw the only diffrence is the end of the shaft, the 2wd had threads for the nut and the 4x4 doesnt, but mabey someone can explain this to me. Second, i have a buddie that has the adaptor, but i cant look at it for another couple of weeks because im awfully busy here. Is there a coupling sleeve that goes between there or is the shaft long enough? Thanks for helping me out here, I love my truck and just wanna make it more enjoyable to drive. You guys are great here.

2. big83chevy4x4

big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

you will almost need a 4wd 465 out of a 81 and newer truck, the 2wd output shaft is not long enough. not even close. if you get a output for a 465, you will need to teat the tranny apart to replace it.

there is no coupler for the 208.

3. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

It'll be a good bit of work to do the swap. You'll need the brake/clutch pedal hanger with pedals and linkages and stuff. You'll also need to decide if you are gonna put up with mechanical clutch linkage or pony up for the hydraulic clutch stuff right away.