Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

4x4/Front End/T-Case Problems

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by xdelirious45x, May 4, 2004.

1. xdelirious45x

xdelirious45x Registered Member

/forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

I recently purchased a 88 chevy k5 blazer TBI, 4 spd. I put on 33" tires with different size rims with the stock height, no lift. I have been rebuilding this thing for about 3 months now. I was going to put on new heads over the weekend and I came into this problem.

I put the truck in 4wd and put it in 1st and drove about 40 ft and it started making weird noises. Also, I noticed that the front axles are having a very hard time turning. I'm wondering if this is b/c of the rims. The wheel weights rub against the A arm that connects to the steering arm. However, when changing my brake pads, I did not put it in 4wd. Could either of these be the problem?
    Could the transfer case have something to do with this?
    Would checking the fluid in the front diff be a start?

ANY OPINIONS OR STATEMENTS WOULD BE APPRECIATED!

Dont Worry I Have Faith In Chevy's
    Xdelirious45x@aol.com
    /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

2. motofool

motofool 1/2 ton status

well wheel weights rubbing would be a problem yes..

we need to know if you have a np203 a no208 or what transfer case you have.

you might want to pull the diff cover and see if everything is okay in the differential.

3. BlazerGuy

BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

What kind of road where you driving on? You can't use 4WD on pavement, or it will bind. What kind of hubs do you have, manual or auto?

4. dremu

dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member