Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

4X4 TO 4X2 CONVERSION

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by JUNKYARDJOHN, Nov 22, 2001.

1. JUNKYARDJOHN

JUNKYARDJOHN Registered Member

I'M DOING A CONVERSION ON A 72 4X4 BLAZER TO A 4X2. I WANT TO SWICTH TO A COIL SRING REAR & A FRONT END ASSY. OUT OF A 72 PICKUP. WOULD IT BE EASIER TO USE A SWB PICKUP FRAME(& SHORTEN IT) OR USE THE BLAZER FRAME? HAS ANYONE HAD EXPERIANCE WITH THIS TYPE OF CONVERSION? ANY ADVICE WOULD BE APPRECIATED. JOHN

2. Captkaos

Captkaos 1/2 ton status

I am far from an expert on 67-72 frames, but if they are anything like the 73-91's the Blazer/Jimmy frames are TOTALLY different than a Pickup, so using a pickup frame is out of the question.

As for swapping the 2WD parts to a 4WD truck, A buddy of mine did this on his. I didn't talk to him about the difficulty level, but I know it can be done. He did say it wasn't a "bolt-in" procedure.

Chris Lucas
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.captkaoscustoms.com>http://www.captkaoscustoms.com</a>

3. kansas blazer

kansas blazer Registered Member

i did this swap on a 69 4 wheel drive i own. i used front suspension out of a 74 2wd big block truck springs , spindles, control arms and everything else that came off the truck . this swap was fairly easy. i only drilled a few holes in the frame and i had to relocate the brake lines because of the crossmember. you can email me for the complete story at jasonrowl@hotmail.com

4. Crushergmc

Crushergmc 1/2 ton status