Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

6.0 swap questions

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by LA90k5, Jan 13, 2006.

1. LA90k5

LA90k5 Registered Member

I have some questions about a 6.0 swap. I have a 90 k5 with a 6.2. I was looking at rebuilding the diesel or getting a crate 350. Well, my bro-in-law totalled his truck the other day. I have not looked at it yet, but I want to buy it for the engine. I am not sure whether or not I should go this route because I've never done an engine swap before. I am comfortable working on my blazer and I'm ok with a crate 350 swap, but the 6.0 has all the extra wiring. I searched and found some good info on this site, but I don't know if I should pursue the 6.0 because it seems like something lengthy and my blazer is a dd. Any advice you guys could give I would greatly appreciate because I am new to the k5 world.

2. 74kay5

74kay5 1/2 ton status

I'm doing a 6.0L 4L80E swap into an 85 k5. This is the 5th motor swap I've done and even so, this ones taken me 7 months. Granted, I haven't had much time to work on it, and most of it has been research, most swaps like this take more time than you would ever imagine. Take a look at the swap that petersons 4wheel and offroad did and it will give you an idea of what parts you need and modifications you will have to do.
    http://www.4wheeloffroad.com/brandpages/chevy/131_0406_eng/index.html
    You can also e-mail me if you would like. But if this is your first time doing something like this and this is a daily driver, I would say no way would this be practical. Your truck would be out of commission for quite some time. The physical swap is easy, it's the little things that kill you in the longrun and keep the swap a nightmare process.:doah:

3. LA90k5

LA90k5 Registered Member