Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

6.2 diesel IP swap help

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 1-bad-burb, Apr 16, 2006.

1. 1-bad-burb

1-bad-burb Registered Member

I'm replacing the injection pump on my 6.2 and have hit a snag, I have all the injector lines off and the 3 nuts off of the studs that hold the IP on, and now the pump still wont come off, why? is there something I'm missing? also are there any other things that I need to know about doing this swap before I go any further? this is my first time doing this and I dont want to fudge it up, I havent found any threads containing an IP replacement step-by-step, any help would be appreciated.

2. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

Haynes has a great diesel book covering the Ford 6.9/7.3 NA and the GM 6.2/6.5's. In it you'll find an area covering the IP re&re.

Basically you'll need to remove the oil fill tube. It's just a push fit with an O ring IIRC. Once removed you'll see one of three bolts holding the IP to the gear through the hole in the top of the timing cover that the fill tube sat in. Undo the bolt being very careful not to drop it...then rotate the motor by hand until the next bolt becomes accessible. Rinse and repeat until all three are out...now the IP should pull right out.

You can't really mess up the orientation as there is also an alignment dowel. The IP can only go back in one way.

On the front of the IP will be a little spring loaded dealie with a button on the front of it. Make sure to keep track of that as I could not find a replacement from GM or anywhere else. I stupidly sent my IP to be rebuilt with that little dealie still on the pump (it just pushes in) I managed to find a used one though...

Rene

3. 1-bad-burb