Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

6.2 in a 1972 Blazer?

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by bbblazer78, Feb 25, 2006.

  1. bbblazer78

    bbblazer78 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Pines NC
    I have a 72 blazer....thinking about what kind of motors may fit it. What about a 6.2 diesel? Has anyone heard of someone doing it? What would be involved in doing so. Any help would be great!
     
  2. imiceman44

    imiceman44 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2002
    Posts:
    15,160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Dimensions wise it will fit.
    To make it work you need to get the crossmember from a 73 and up chevy, you can do a search on BBC in a first gen GM and you will find all the details, that would be in the 67-72 first gen forum in this website. The 6.2 in size is between the SBC and the BBC so if you can fit a BBC you can fit a 6.2.
    As for the rest you need to get a 4 core radiator to fit in there probably will have to custom make one.:eek1:
     
  3. bbblazer78

    bbblazer78 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Pines NC
    :waytogo: Uhmmm...sounds tricky. I thought it would be cool do a 6.2 and then put a banks system on there. But...350 may stay in there a while. Thanks for the information. I am sure the west coast has many of places that could do with no sweat. Here on the East, I dont know of many places.
     
  4. colbystephens

    colbystephens 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,924
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Oregon
    it would be best for you to pick up a whole donor truck. that way you have all the parts you need and you can part out the rest and maybe make a bunch of the money back that way. one thing to add - you'll need to run your brake system thru your p/s and you'd need to set up a glow plug switch inside the cab - both pretty simple issues.

    i don't think there are many shops around which would do that swap. maybe, but it'd be pretty rare for someone to take a request like that to a shop. BIG $$$. If you build up to it, it shouldn't be too bad of a job for you to do. Just make sure you have all your parts and a good idea of how you're going to go about doing it.
     
  5. bbblazer78

    bbblazer78 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Pines NC
    Thanks for the infor. Yeah it sounds like some big bucks for either case. I guess I need to focus on the bad parts now...the engine is running great right now. Just got some rust to work with. This should be interesting. lol THanks again!
     

Share This Page